Skip to content

/clear vs /new unclear #3569

Description

@Foolminate

Describe the feature or problem you'd like to solve

Clarify /clear vs /new tooltips

Proposed solution

The help tooltips for /clear and /new don't make it obvious that /new preserves the session for /resume, while /clear discards it permanently. Consider clarifying this distinction.

Example prompts or workflows

No response

Additional context

No response

Activity

  1. added
    area:sessionsSession management, resume, history, session picker, and session state
    on May 29, 2026
  2. rmatab commented on Jul 2, 2026

    @rmatab

    Since this is a CLI tool, I would expect /clear to clear the screen, similar to clear in a Linux terminal.

    I definitely would not expect it to clear the context. Is there any way to recover or undo this?

    update 2026-07-18: Just pressed Ctrl+L and it cleared the terminal screen. And now I can't find the full session transcript anywhere.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    area:sessionsSession management, resume, history, session picker, and session state

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions